A Diverse and Experienced Board

Next Science's Board of Directors has extensive governance and operating experience. Collectively they have decades of experience in the life sciences industry with a focus on novel technology commercialization. Working closely with the Leadership Team they are focused on driving Next Science forward and bringing Next Science's novel Xbio technology to market.

George Savvides

Independent Chairperson

George has 25 years of experience in the Australian & NZ healthcare sector. He was CEO of two successful IPO listings on the ASX, Sigma in 1999 and Medibank Private in 2014. He served as Medibank CEO for 14 years. The Medibank float at the time was the second largest in Australia’s history.

George has an honors degree in Engineering from UNSW and an MBA from UTS and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. George is currently on the Board of four companies, they include NZX listed Ryman Healthcare, New Zealand’s largest residential aged care provider, Chairman Kings Transport Group Ltd, Chairman Macquarie University Hospital, and the Deputy Chairman of the public broadcaster SBS. George recently retired as Chairman of World Vision Australia. He also served as Deputy President of the International Federation of Health Plans.

Judith Mitchell

CEO and Executive Director

Judith Mitchell joined Next Science as CEO in August 2017. Previously Ms. Mitchell was President, DePuy Synthes Asia Pacific, the Orthopedics Division of J&J, holding the same role at Synthes GmbH prior to acquisition. Prior to that, Ms. Mitchell held various executive management roles at Cochlear and GE.

Bruce Hancox

Non-Executive Director

Bruce Hancox joined the board in April 2012. Mr. Hancox is currently a director of a number of listed and private Australian and New Zealand companies. He previously held a number of senior roles at Brierley Investments Ltd. in New Zealand as General Manager, Group CEO and Chairman, as well as serving on the board of a number of their subsidiaries.

Dan Spira

Non-Executive Director

Dan Spira joined the board in June 2017. Mr. Spira is the CEO of iNova Pharmaceuticals. Previously Vice President at Valeant Pharmaceuticals / Bausch + Lomb from 2011 to 2015. Prior to Valeant, Mr. Spira spent over 15 years at J&J progressing through a range of sales, marketing and general management roles.

In the News

Learn about the latest news and events from Next Science and its partners.